“Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another, ‘What! You too? I thought I was the only one.” -C.S. Lewis

I always find friends in the most unlikely places at the most unexpected times. I left a job in NYC to come back to school to get my master’s in Syracuse, but I didn’t really anticipate wanting to socialize or live it up like a student again. After all, I got through that in college and felt confident with the relationships I’d built over my lifetime. 

For some reason, I was so sure that I’d maxed out on friendship, that no one could possibly come into my life and offer a relationship worth the extra effort. 

Well, I was in for a big surprise. A year after starting my program at SU, I find it so unbelievably hard to fathom that so many wonderful people have entered my life and made a lasting impact over such a short period of time. I can’t even count how many times I’ve said, “You too? I thought I was the only one.” 

Thanks, Syracuse friends. I thought I was the only one.

-SJ

