Yes, I know. Lists and countdowns are cliche on their own but after I stumbled across another list today I simply could not sit back and do nothing.

The website sassypinkpeppers.com provides a spot for divorced women to band together and offer support. That’s awesome, no issues there. However the music list they provided for their readers is as predictable and tired as it gets. Check it out here

It pretty much made up the entire top 3 list for me, but Ill narrow it down.

3. Anything by Whitney Houston
: Yes she has the gold records but when you’re feeling down do you really wanna turn to a woman whose drug hazed sham marriage to Bobby Brown was broadcast on national TV? When she said “Didn’t We Almost Have It All?” was she singing about a person or the 8 Ball she bought the night before? Thanks Whitney, but its time for you to go.

2.  “Stronger” by Britney Spears: I don’t plan on diving into Britney’s history, you can turn on E! right now and I’m sure there’s a story about her kicking a squirrel or something.   But just listen to this song and consider her past and tell me that you actually believe she’s stronger than she was the day before?  Her spiraling trainwreck of a life is an unparalleled body of work and in a court of law, even the OJ jury wouldn’t be fooled that Britney’s problems are a mile away.

Apparently “Britney TV” doesnt allow you to embed her videos so click here if you want to see it.

1.  “I Will Survive” by Gloria Gaynor. I’m pretty sure song writing duo Freddie Perren and Dino Fekaris (Gaynor didn’t even write the damn song) were Nostradamus levels of clairvoyant since this song was tailor made for ladies night at a Karaoke bar.  The song has been done to death and the fact that its still kicking around shows that someone else needs to step up and write the next big “I’m ok without you” anthem.  At least this time we’ll all be spared the disco beat (at least I hope to God that’s the case).

(Dis) Honorable Mention: “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” by Cyndi Lauper, “Dancing Queen” by Abba, “I Am Woman Hear Me Roar” by Helen Reddy.

-Josh Kruk

