Lavender Honey Cheesecake

Lavender Honey Cheesecake is the dessert of romance. Photo Credit: Washingtonpost.com 

I’m eating enjoying a slice as I write this.

My friend Kate decided she was going to make Lavender Honey Cheesecake after seeing the recipe online on Washington Post.. and she has made me very happy.

Full disclosure: I’m a cheesecake nut. But let me tell you with unbiased praise that this dessert tastes every bit as delicious as it looks. She tells me that culinary lavender and blueberries lend the cheesecake this gorgeous purple hue. The lavender also adds more bite; a hint of bitterness mixed with honey, and decidedly moist and creamy cheesecake filling that makes each flavor sing.

On top of that, it leaves you with an intriguing lavender aftertaste that just tastes pretty. This cheesecake, I dare say, is pure poetry.

Who knew edible flowers had a place in dessert-making? There’s a ton of them out there! Check out this blogger’s Flower Power Round-up and learn how to make Rose and Watermelon Jam, Lavender Shortbread, and White Chocolate and Orange Flower Mousse.

Shoutout to the wonderful weekend-baker, Kate Sheehy, who, on her first try, made me fall in love.

– Kris Alcantara

 

Today's Sugarhigh: Tim Horton's Sour Cream Tim Bits (donut holes)
Score: A- (full post to come soon!)

 

