“Tell me what you eat, and I will tell you what you are.” Anthelme Brillat-Savarin

I’ve been on this smoothie kick lately, and I feel great about it. I bought a blender-smoothie maker combo about a month ago, and it’s pretty much my new best friend. It was surprisingly easy to kick my bagel and cream cheese addiction by replacing the carb-cream disaster with a much healthier option that gives me enough energy to get through the morning.

I think Brillat-Savarin was on to something. My friend Cindia calls it “The Sadness” when you have way too much of a good food. Afterwards, the guilt kicks in, along with the weighed-down feeling of having a brick of fat and oil sitting in your stomach. So just avoid “The Sadness” and embrace “The Gladness”–the feeling you get when you’ve had a delightfully fruity, nutritious, refreshing smoothie.

I wake up a few minutes early and throw the following ingredients in the blender for a spin:

– Half cup fat-free vanilla yogurt.

– Frozen melon cubes (I’ve read that melon stays good in the freezer for up to a month)

– Crystal Light lemonade (as much as you like, depending on the consistency you prefer)

– Three ice cubes

– Optional: berries, fruits, juices, frozen mixers. Remember, the more you add, the higher the caloric content of the drink.

Smoothies at restaurants and ice cream shops can be deceiving. Just because it’s a smoothie doesn’t mean it’s healthier than a milkshake. Opt for skim milk instead of cream, 2% or ice cream. Try Splenda over sugar. You’re better off making your own at home where you have total control over the ingredients.

Mix up your morning routine with all sorts of flavors. Try to use fruits that are in season. This web site is a great place to browse recipes and read user feedback.

-sj

