"It's not that chocolates are a substitute for love.
Love is a substitute for chocolate.
Chocolate is, let's face it, far more reliable than a man."

– Miranda Ingram, journalist and chocoholic

This could have been me at 5. Photo Credit: http://www.franchiseinfo.co.uk/

Everybody has a first love.

Mine was (is, forever) chocolate. I can’t really remember the first time I had chocolate but I imagine it was a very good day.

Here are some things I picked up while working as an editor in a food magazine two years ago.

1. You can tell a bad Japanese joint from a good one by their miso soup (hey if you can’t get the basics right you’ll probably screw up the rest of the menu too). The same way great Korean restaurants have good jap chae.

2. Steak places that freeze meat are silly. Once, a chef of a famous steakhouse in Manila told me: “The difference between freezing and chilling meat is like the difference between making love to an 80-year-old and an 18-year-old. Oh, you’ll know.” I can’t say I know exactly what he was talking about but it’s damn good analogy.

3. The only way to survive working in a food magazine without crossing over to the darkside (by that I mean gluttony)is to taste everything, not eat everything. Trust me, I’ve been to far too many photo shoots where I pigged out on appetizers and ended up regretting it when the dessert tray comes. If I had it my way, I would eat dessert first.

This blog is devoted to finding the best places for dessert–my personal quest that I would love to share with you. I plan to take you all over–from obscure coffee shops, to giant chain restaurants, bakeries, Wal-Mart’s chocolate aisle, homebakers’ kitchens, and so on.

It’s going to be sweet.

– Kris Alcantara

Sugarhigh Suggestion: Panera Bread's Iced Caramel Coffee (scroll down to the iced coffee listing)
