(Courtesy of Google images)

Sometimes to take a few steps forward, you have to take a couple steps back.

And when re-starting a new sport over, you gotta start completely over. On my third day back to yoga, I revisited the basics of a beginner class.

And it was quite refreshing.

The beauty of yoga classes is that despite recommendations for class levels, anyone is welcome to float in and out them regardless of skill and experience. I can usually just make the 5:30 p.m. classes, so I the levels I will be attending at this studio are diverse. Despite practicing yoga on and off for a number of years, I still learn how to improve my practice by perfecting the

Since my muscles were still a little sore in the upper arm region from my first class, the beginner class proved to be just the right challenge.

Opening the heart is a major form of emotional release in yoga. People usually cave their shoulders in and close their heart, trying to protect themselves from opening up too much and being vulnerable. Yoga moves teach practitioners to roll their shoulders back and open their heart, which reveals emotional relief for those typically closed off.

In the beginner two class, we did crab pose, which is a bridge form and extreme heart opener.

After bending backwards and opening up, I felt a little lightheaded when I first returned to a normal state and mind was wiped of all thoughts.

(Courtesy of Women’s Health Mag.com)

During this pose I achieved mental clarity, but for the majority of class I struggled to clear my thoughts.

It’s only the beginning though and the road for improvement that lies ahead pushes me to keep trying.

In some way in life, we are always beginners setting out on a road to try new things or stepping back a little bit to re-start our path the way we should have.

Yoga high: 0.5

