mexican chocolate tofu pudding
Mexican Chocolate Tofu Pudding. Photo Credit: nytimes.com

I once fell asleep with chocolate in my mouth.

In my defense, chocolate relaxes me. It was right after dinner and I had just unwrapped a Lindt dark chocolate truffle (for the record, I love truffles. I think it’s a beautiful word that just rolls off your tongue). So I bit into the truffle feeling the silky chocolate center ooze out of the shell, while bits and pieces of chocolate lingered on my tongue. In my euphoric state I dozed off. The next thing I knew I woke up with this sour metallic taste in my mouth AND a sore throat.

Anyway.

I’m a fan of chocolate that goes down easy–like hot chocolate, chocolate soup, the inside of Molten Lava Chocolate Cake, or chocolate mousse.  Speaking of, ever since I saw Mark Bittman’s post on New York Times about Mexican Chocolate Tofu Pudding, I’ve been dying to try tofu with my chocolate. And apparently the dessert gods heard my prayer because yesterday, Untied’s Katie Holloway brought tofu chocolate mousse to the web room! No, it doesn’t taste like tofu, but it does lend an unbelievably silky feel to the mousse. It was like eating chocolate icing but not as dense, and not as sweet.

We ate it with strawberries, doughnuts, chips–you name it–it was a perfect match for everything. Katie’s cousin Sara was kind enough to share the recipe. Even awesomer news-it’s incredibly easy to make:

Ingredients

1 package silken tofu
10 oz dark chocolate
2 tbsp maple syrup
1/4 Kahlua (optional)

Procedure

1. In a double boiler (or microwave), melt the chocolate.

2. Combine tofu and chocolate in blender and blend until fully mixed. Add syrup and Kahlua.

3. Place in a separate container and cover. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours.

You know what else is good with tofu? Fruit smoothies! I swear it makes a difference. Go on a health trip and try this strawberry-banana smoothie with honey, orange juice, and tofu.

Enjoy!

- Kris Alcantara

Today’s Sugarhigh:  Too many to mention.

Score: A

